Poetry

SETTING ABLAZE THE OLD 

Sharon Mo // ©2017

Standing by ferocious flames
Clinging to my chest are dismal
piercing words
All captured in mingled hoary
papers from the old
An ancient dateless
book of mine
I get haunted with every
page I turn
All I see are skeletons
All are supposed to be stale
by now
But they chose to stand tall
All are enemies to my peace
For its destruction they
remain strong
Day and night they kill it all
But for how long?
It’s my question
Tonight will be the end
It’s my decision
No more clinging this dreaded
book to my chest
I am killing the obsession
I throw it into the flames
It’s time to set it ablaze
I stand still and watch it burn
A smoke dark
and tormenting arises
And I can only smell terror
Tears
Hate
Regrets
And endless blames
All dying in flames
Misfortunes from my past
All buried in flames
I will no longer live in the old

1 thought on “SETTING ABLAZE THE OLD ”

Leave a comment