Broken Lassie - The journey

Healing is another word for journey

Just one moment is enough to break your heart into two or more pieces, and before you know it, you are one of the broken. A minute is all it takes for your whole self to fall apart, but it is never the same with healing.

You don’t just wake up and affirm yourself that it will be the day you let go of all your pain, past, troubles or brokenness – that’s not how it works.

Healing is another word for journey and it requires commitment and perseverance, you have to be willing to let go, of which is neither easy nor immediate. 

It requires a lot of strength and it is for the brave, not those who shy away from confrontation; you have to be strong enough to allow yourself to feel weak. Confront that pain when you feel it, cry it all out and fall rock bottom if you have to.

Locking emotions inside and saying you are strong and not feeling any, is not strength, it is fear rather – fear of confrontation and healing. You gotta be willing to talk about that monster, yet talking doesn’t mean immediate healing. It is just part of the process.

Opening up is worse than bottling up, once you start talking about your pain, is when you feel it the most – you cry at your sight in the mirror. You feel like you should have just kept quiet, but that’s not the time to then be quiet because those who quit the healing process never get whole.

There are certain things and changes you will go through soon as you decide to heal. You will have to challenge yourself psychologically, emotionally and physically. It will take time for you to finally get out of the shell, so be patient with yourself and the healing process.

Sharon Mo ©

15 thoughts on “Healing is another word for journey”

  1. I agree with this. Sharon. Healing is, indeed, a long term process. We have to first acknowledge and accept the fact that we are in pain. Once that occurs, we have to forge a path forward (towards healing) which includes slowly ridding ourselves of negativity (even leaving behind those who have a negative effect on us) while doing positive things. All of this, of course, has to occur as we continue to talk things through with people we trust or even our diaries if we are not ready to open up to others) and as we continue to spend time in self-reflection. One cannot move past an issue without dealing with it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw, you are so sweet, Sharon. I don’t take part in awards but I am humbled by your nomination. hank you, for thinking me worthy!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sure thing! I don’t take part in awards for a few reasons, really. They take a lot of time to partake in and time is something I don’t have a lot of. I can barely keep up with reading all the poetry I love and commenting/responding. I don’t really share much about my personal life in a public forum like this and to take part in the true essence of awards one is often asked personal questions to answer. And, I guess another reason why I don’t accept awards, is that it is nearly impossible to choose a number of blogs, from the those I follow, to nominate because most all of them are not into awards either. I show my appreciation to my blog friends by reading and liking their work.

        Don’t get me wrong, I am humbled to have been nominated. Happy writing, Sharon!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, healing is absolutely a long-term process. The ebb and flow of feelings cannot be predicted or regulated, without serious damage to the person in healing. There will be those who attack the wounded. There will be those who wish to help the healing process. My money is always on th e latter group.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment